Thomas Thomas

     During the AG (Annual Gathering) in Phoenix in July, many members of Region 10 were recognized with National Awards for their service and achievements in Mensa. American Mensa Chair LaRae Bakerink presented Chairman’s Service Awards to 16 members, including Belinda Nemeth of Tampa Bay Mensa for her hard work and diligence in modernizing Tampa Bay Mensa, Brian Reeves of Palm Beach Area Mensa for his hard work (together with Allison Reeves of Chicago Mensa) in providing the Phoenix AG, and Elissa Rudolph of Palm Beach Area Mensa for her service as Advocate over the last term. National Certificates of Appreciation went to Nora Foust of Central Florida Mensa for her service on the Election Committee, and to Jason Knight of Broward Mensa for his service on the 2017, 2018 & 2019 AG Committees, and the Gifted Youth Coordinator of the Year went to Micki Hawn of Broward Mensa.

     Local Groups were also recognized via the Jewel Awards, which recognize a combination of accomplishments and participation in Mensa activities within five different class sizes. The awards are, in ascending order, Emerald, Sapphire, and Ruby, plus Diamond for the highest achievement within each class. Ruby awards went to Tallahassee Area Mensa in Class V (fewer than 100 members) and Northwest Florida Mensa in Class IV (100 to 199 members), while Emerald Awards went to Manasota Mensa, Mensa of Jacksonville, and North Florida Mensa in Class III (200 to 399 members), and to Broward Mensa and Tampa Bay Mensa in Class II (400 to 899 members).

     CultureQuest winners were also announced, with The Browsers of Broward Mensa taking 19th place, Jackson-Villains of Mensa of Jacksonville placing 11th, and Tragic Kingdom of Central Florida Mensa continuing as the reigning champions for an amazing sixth year in a row!

     The Mensa Foundation also announced its list of scholarship winners prior to the AG. Scholarships are awarded at the Local, Regional, and National levels. Scholarship winners in Region 10 included 14 Local scholarships, 2 Regional scholarships, and 2 National scholarships, plus one Mensa Member scholarship, totaling $14,400 overall. I would like to extend my thanks to our Regional Scholarship Chair Albia Dugger for her service, as well as to all the local scholarship chairs and judges who made this such a success.


     At the American Mensa Committee (AMC) meeting held at the AG, most of the actions taken were housekeeping items such as appointments of committee chairs and event policies for the AG and Mind Games. We also approved four Appointed AMC officers for one-year term in 2019-2020. Alexander Huth will be continuing as Marketing Officer, Stephanie Thornton will be returning as Membership Officer after a break of a couple of years, Lora Mitchell will be taking on the position of Communication Officer, and Keri Guilbault will be joining us as Director of Science and Education. We also approved Baltimore, Maryland as the site of the Annual Gathering for 2023.

     The next scheduled AMC meeting will be on September 7, 2019 in Arlington, TX.

Until next month (or until I see you online),

Thomas George Thomas


Click to access the login or register cheese